Nominations Announced – Summer Cup 2011

December 20th, 2011

Nominations have been released for the Group 3 Summer Cup which is due to run at Rosehill Racecourse on Monday December 26, 2011.

The 2011 Summer Cup, which will be run on Boxing Day, is part of an exciting eight card program in Sydney.

15 horses have been nominated to run in the 2011 Summer Cup’s 13 horse field, including Count Encosta.

Count Encosta finished third in the Listed Christmas Cup at Rosehill on December 10 and will be looking to post his first win of the preparation in the Summer Cup 2011.

The five-year-old Encosta De Lago gelding has not won a race since April 2010, when he won the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes.

Count Encosta has won three of his 27 race starts and has earned close to $220,000 in prize money.

Also included in the 2011 Summer Cup nominations is Stephen Farley’s Gazza Guru.

Gazza Guru finished fifth behind Sea Galleon last start in the $100,000 Christmas Cup.

The seven-year-old gelding has won six of his 58 race starts and has earned more than $240,000 in prize money.

A win in the 2011 Summer Cup would be the first for Gazza Guru since posting victory in the Grafton Cup in July.

Gaza Guru will go into the Summer Cup 2011 with two group placings under his belt, finishing third in both the Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup and the Group 3 Craven Plate during the spring.

Full Peal, Permit and Scouting Wide are also included in the 2011 Summer Cup nominations.

Luxbet are offering a bonus bet valued at up to $400 to new customers who sign up today and enter the promo code BONUSBET.

Just enter this promo code when you open your new Luxbet account and you will receive a bonus bet equal to 100% of your initial deposit when you bank between $25 and $500.

So sign up to claim your bonus bet from our favourite online bookmaker today!

2011 Summer Cup Nominations

Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 88
2 CYBER CRIME Guy Walter 63
3 FULL PEAL Bill & Symon Wilde
4 GAZZA GURU Stephen Farley 86
5 MR TIPSY (NZ) Bjorn Baker
6 NEXTANIX Kerry Parker 80
7 PEGEMBAK Bart Cummings 70
8 PERMIT (GB) Chris Waller 80
9 SAINT SAIALA David Payne 71
10 SCOUTING WIDE (NZ) Tim Martin 94
11 SHADOW MINISTER Garry White 74
12 SOLID BILLING Craig Ritchie 96
13 STRIKE ONE (GB) Chris Waller 96
14 WINNING GLORY (NZ) David Payne 82
15 YULALONA Peter Snowden 86