2012 Summer Cup Won By Le Roi – Race Results

January 4th, 2013

Le Roi has won the Group 3 Summer Cup, which took place at Rosehill Racecourse on December 26, 2012.

The four-year-old won the race by almost a length ahead of Brightest, who finished second, and Praecido, who passed the post in third.

Le Roi has now won four of his six Australian race starts and has earned more than $180,000 in prize money during his horse racing career.

He had one run in France prior to being purchased by trainer Tony McEvoy last year, where he claimed victory over 1,800 metres.

Jockey Glyn Schofield was over the moon with Le Roi’s performance in the 2012 Summer Cup.

“He’s a super horse, really,” Schofield said.

“For a horse that stays well and has only had a handful of starts, it was a very good win.

“Tony knows what he has got in this horse and he is in for exciting times ahead.”

McEvoy is pleased that Le Roi is now qualified to run in many of the autumn feature races after his 2012 Summer Cup win.

“Mission accomplished – it ticks a few boxes winning this race,” McEvoy said.

“He has passed the 2400m clause and the Group 3 clause. It doesn’t qualify you for everything but it helps.

“The major objective I was trying to achieve coming here obviously was to win the race but also the trip away from home will grow him a horse.”

Open an account with our favourite Australian bookmaker bookmaker.com.au today in order to receive a bonus bet worth up to $400 when you sign up and enter our exclusive promo code BONUSBET.

Bookmaker.com.au offer the best odds on both horse racing and online sports betting, so make sure you open an account and get involved today.

So sign up to bookmaker.com.au and start betting today!

2012 Summer Cup Race Results & Finishing Order

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 3 LE ROI (GER) Tony McEvoy Glyn Schofield 4 58kg $2.40F
2 5 BRIGHTEST Guy Walter Rod Quinn 0.8L 6 58kg $9.50
3 4 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne Christian Reith 2.3L 5 58kg $13
4 7 IGGI POP (NZ) John O’Shea James McDonald 3L 1 58kg $4
5 2 WINNING GLORY (NZ) David Payne Jason Collett 3.8L 2 58kg $11
6 1 POSTE RESTANTE (NZ) Desleigh Forster Michael Cahill 6.4L 7 58kg $7
7 6 FROMELLES (NZ) John Sargent Nathan Berry 9L 3 58kg $41