Over the years a number of impressive gallopers have won the Summer Cup including Super Impose (1988), Catalan Prince (1995), Zanetta (1999) and Ready To Lift (2008).

Summer Cup results are notoriously difficult to pick, as horses race at different stages of preparation during that part of the year.

The Summer Cup winner for 2013 needed only to race across 2000m due to a distance adjustment for that year.

Below is a list of Summer Cup results since 2000.

Summer Cup Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Winner’s Time
2016 Red Excitement Foreign Prince Shalmaneser 2:03.8
2015 Mighty Lucky Junoob I’m Imposing 2:03.7
2014 I’m Imposing Midsummer Sun Casino Dancer 2:04.8
2013 I’m Imposing Travolta Destiny’s Kiss 2:04.8
2012 Le Roi Brightest Praecido 2:35.14
2011 Yulalona Nextanix Count Encosta 2:30.1
2010 Spechenka Strike One Let Them Have It 2:26.3
2009 Solid Billing Zazabeau Rockwood 2:30.6
2008 Ready To Lift Bellagio Wynn Zazabeau 2:31.8
2006 Jamberoo Game On Taken At The Flood 2.32.9
2005 Aqua D’Amore County Tyrone Beat The Tide 2.28.1
2004 This Manshood Vereza New York Style 2.27.8
2003 Stadium Ocho Stoway 2.30.1
2002 Stoway Ego Fast Barawin 2.33.2
2001 Majestically Zareyev Power of Pegasus 2.29.3
2000 Lanolin Vitrinite Consolidator 2.27.4